Texas bans abortion after 6 weeks of pregnancy

1 September 2021: Texas passed a ban on abortion at just six weeks of pregnancy, before many people even know they're pregnant. The bill also allows anyone to sue any Texan for providing abortion services or helping someone access abortion, such as abortion funds providing financial assistance; all abortion clinic staff or even someone who helps a friend. The law took effect September 1, 2021.
The law has an unusual enforcement scheme. Rather than have officials responsible for enforcing the law, private citizens are authorized to sue abortion providers and anyone involved in facilitating abortions. Under the law, anyone who successfully sues another person would be entitled to at least $10,000 as well as reimbursement of all their legal fees.
At the moment there are no abortion providers anymore in Texas who will provide an abortion after 6 weeks of pregnancy.
Aid Access will continue supporting girls, women and pregnant people with access to safe abortion medication.

For mor information about what you can do to help fight the ban, please click here